Procedure price report · Other Laboratory

Definitive drug test for antidepressants, not specified

CPT code CPT 80338the billing code this page is about

A laboratory test on blood or urine that identifies and measures antidepressant drugs not covered by a more specific code; billed once per date of service for this drug class.

Hospitals typically charge $57 cash for this outpatient procedure — the median across 1,172 hospitals that filed a usable cash price; the average of the middle 60% is $64. Most fall between $16 and $139 (20th–80th percentile).

Hospitals
1,172
States
50
Filings dated
Jan 2024 – Sep 2026
Computed
September 25, 2026
Prices checked
through September 24, 2026

Median: half of hospitals filed less, half more — and it is a price some hospital actually filed. Average of the middle 60%: the mean of the prices between the 20th and 80th percentiles. We never publish the plain average, the lowest or the highest price: the extremes in hospital price files are chargemaster artefacts, not prices anyone pays.

What hospitals charge, from cheapest to most expensive

Cash price percentiles, outpatient, across 1,172 hospitals. Each figure is a price a hospital filed. 10th: one in ten hospitals charges less; 25th: a quarter charge less; Median: half charge less; 75th: three quarters charge less; 90th: nine in ten charge less.
10th25thMedian75th90th
$10$23$57$113$218

The most expensive tenth of hospitals charges at least 22× what the cheapest tenth charges ($10 vs $218).

How the prices are spread

$6 – $9: 48 hospitals$6$9 – $13: 34 hospitals$13 – $19: 123 hospitals$13$19 – $28: 71 hospitals$28 – $42: 103 hospitals$28$42 – $62: 177 hospitals$62 – $92: 166 hospitals$62$92 – $136: 154 hospitals$136 – $202: 104 hospitals$136$202 – $301: 80 hospitals$202median $57price bands are equal on a log scale
Hospitals per price band (1,060 of 1,172 — the bands cover the 5th to 95th percentile)
FromToHospitals
$6$948
$9$1334
$13$19123
$19$2871
$28$42103
$42$62177
$62$92166
$92$136154
$136$202104
$202$30180

By state

The median cash price in each state, against the national median of $57.

Alaska: 2 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureAKMaine: median $107 across 10 hospitalsME$107Vermont: 4 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureVTNew Hampshire: 7 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureNHWashington: median $93 across 32 hospitalsWA$93Idaho: 3 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureIDMontana: 4 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureMTNorth Dakota: median $16 across 11 hospitalsND$16Minnesota: median $28 across 26 hospitalsMN$28Illinois: median $80 across 61 hospitalsIL$80Wisconsin: median $50 across 73 hospitalsWI$50Michigan: median $60 across 40 hospitalsMI$60New York: median $48 across 46 hospitalsNY$48Massachusetts: median $56 across 24 hospitalsMA$56Oregon: median $12 across 19 hospitalsOR$12Nevada: 3 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureNVWyoming: 5 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureWYSouth Dakota: 4 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureSDIowa: median $72 across 25 hospitalsIA$72Indiana: median $64 across 33 hospitalsIN$64Ohio: median $54 across 65 hospitalsOH$54Pennsylvania: median $211 across 44 hospitalsPA$211New Jersey: median $61 across 20 hospitalsNJ$61Connecticut: 7 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureCTRhode Island: 5 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureRICalifornia: median $16 across 68 hospitalsCA$16Utah: median $37 across 30 hospitalsUT$37Colorado: median $112 across 22 hospitalsCO$112Nebraska: 4 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureNEMissouri: median $33 across 17 hospitalsMO$33Kentucky: median $32 across 25 hospitalsKY$32West Virginia: median $5 across 17 hospitalsWV$5Virginia: median $13 across 18 hospitalsVA$13Maryland: median $17 across 28 hospitalsMD$17Delaware: 4 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureDEArizona: 8 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureAZNew Mexico: 5 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureNMKansas: median $92 across 20 hospitalsKS$92Arkansas: 8 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureARTennessee: median $67 across 31 hospitalsTN$67North Carolina: median $58 across 43 hospitalsNC$58South Carolina: median $91 across 25 hospitalsSC$91Oklahoma: median $236 across 13 hospitalsOK$236Louisiana: median $32 across 25 hospitalsLA$32Mississippi: median $68 across 21 hospitalsMS$68Alabama: median $21 across 10 hospitalsAL$21Georgia: median $139 across 23 hospitalsGA$139Hawaii: 7 hospitals filed a usable price — fewer than 10, so no figureHITexas: median $92 across 75 hospitalsTX$92Florida: median $56 across 52 hospitalsFL$56
Cash price by state, most expensive first. National median $57. A state needs at least 10 hospitals with a usable price to show a figure.
StateHospitalsMedianvs national20th–80th
Oklahoma OK13$236+314%$23 – $282
Pennsylvania PA44$211+269%$83 – $371
Georgia GA23$139+144%$50 – $197
Colorado CO22$112+96%$51 – $192
Maine ME10$107+87%$13 – $164
Washington WA32$93+63%$51 – $132
Texas TX75$92+62%$49 – $113
Kansas KS20$92+61%$68 – $204
South Carolina SC25$91+59%$90 – $143
Illinois IL61$80+41%$25 – $207
Iowa IA25$72+26%$49 – $74
Mississippi MS21$68+18%$38 – $130
Tennessee TN31$67+18%$13 – $140
Indiana IN33$64+13%$20 – $196
New Jersey NJ20$61+7%$54 – $197
Michigan MI40$60+5%$46 – $106
North Carolina NC43$58+1%$17 – $90
Florida FL52$56−1%$7 – $86
Massachusetts MA24$56−2%$28 – $244
Ohio OH65$54−6%$14 – $197
Wisconsin WI73$50−12%$42 – $72
New York NY46$48−16%$20 – $125
Utah UT30$37−35%$31 – $65
Missouri MO17$33−43%$13 – $85
Louisiana LA25$32−44%$18 – $61
Kentucky KY25$32−44%$9 – $79
Minnesota MN26$28−51%$9 – $52
Alabama AL10$21−64%$5 – $158
Maryland MD28$17−71%$6 – $43
California CA68$16−72%$15 – $103
North Dakota ND11$16−72%$15 – $64
Virginia VA18$13−77%$13 – $99
Oregon OR19$12−80%$8 – $50
West Virginia WV17$5−91%$5 – $32
Arkansas AR8not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Arizona AZ8not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Connecticut CT7not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Hawaii HI7not enough hospitals filed a usable price
New Hampshire NH7not enough hospitals filed a usable price
New Mexico NM5not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Rhode Island RI5not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Wyoming WY5not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Delaware DE4not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Montana MT4not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Nebraska NE4not enough hospitals filed a usable price
South Dakota SD4not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Vermont VT4not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Idaho ID3not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Nevada NV3not enough hospitals filed a usable price
Alaska AK2not enough hospitals filed a usable price

Hospitals like yours

The same distribution cut by the kind of hospital. Hospital type and ownership come from CMS; a hospital counts as part of a system when its price file is shared with at least one other hospital under the same brand. The national median is $57.

Cash price by hospital segment. A segment needs at least 20 hospitals to show a figure.
SegmentHospitalsMedian20th–80th
Hospital type
Acute care898$61$19 – $143
Children’s22$26$10 – $144
Critical access248$46$14 – $122
Ownership
For-profit120$92$23 – $152
Government162$62$17 – $128
Non-profit886$54$16 – $136
System affiliation
Part of a system1,004$56$17 – $136
Independent168$64$15 – $162

Cash price vs list price

Median list price (chargemaster)$96
Median cash price$57
Cash as a share of list, median hospital65%

At the typical hospital, asking for the cash price cuts the list price by about 35%. The share is the median of each hospital’s own cash ÷ list ratio, over hospitals that filed both — not the ratio of the two medians above.

The same procedure, inpatient

886 hospitals filed a usable inpatient cash price for this code. The median is $62 and the average of the middle 60% is $66; most fall between $17 and $140.

Cash price percentiles, inpatient, across 886 hospitals. Each figure is a price a hospital filed. 10th: one in ten hospitals charges less; 25th: a quarter charge less; Median: half charge less; 75th: three quarters charge less; 90th: nine in ten charge less.
10th25thMedian75th90th
$13$23$62$118$218

The most expensive tenth of hospitals charges at least 17× what the cheapest tenth charges ($13 vs $218).

Of the 981 hospitals that filed this code inpatient, 886 gave a usable cash price; 66 carried a plausibility flag, 0 filed a number their own filing marks as not a price, 0 gave an estimate, and 29 a list price only.

How complete is this

1,172 of the 3,956 hospitals with a price file in our corpus (30%) filed a usable outpatient cash price for this code, and those are the hospitals every figure on this page is computed from.

What the 1,312 hospitals that filed this code at all gave us
Usable cash price — counted1,172
Cash price carrying a plausibility flag — shown on the compare tool, excluded here79
A number the filing itself marks as not a price (a placeholder, a ratio) — excluded1
An estimate rather than a filed cash price — excluded0
A list price only, no cash figure — excluded60
Hospitals that filed this code1,312

Sections not shown for this setting

  • Against Medicare: Medicare has no separately payable national outpatient (OPPS) rate for this code, so there is nothing honest to compare against.
  • Since our last snapshot: there is no earlier snapshot at least 90 days older than this one yet.

We last checked these hospitals’ price files for changes between September 4, 2026 and September 24, 2026; the figures were computed September 25, 2026 from filings loaded through September 23, 2026. The percentiles and averages use only the “counted” row.

Hospitals file this code under descriptions such as ANTIDEPRESSANT NOT SPECIFIED.

Method

Source
The machine-readable price files every U.S. hospital is required by CMS to publish, parsed per hospital. Nothing is surveyed, sampled or modelled.
What counts
One cash (self-pay) price per hospital for this code and setting. A hospital’s own filing can rule its number out — a placeholder, a “not applicable” note, a list price standing in for cash — and our plausibility checks can flag a price far below what every other hospital files. Both kinds are disclosed above and excluded from the statistics; on the compare tool a flagged price is still shown.
Statistics
Percentiles are discrete: each is a price some hospital filed. The average is the mean of the prices between the 20th and 80th percentiles. We never publish the plain mean, the minimum or the maximum. A state needs 10 hospitals and a segment 20 to show a figure; otherwise the row shows its count and no number. Medicare is the national unadjusted OPPS rate where one exists.
Names
Procedure names on these pages are our own plain-language titles, not the AMA’s copyrighted CPT descriptors. The code is the identity.

The full rules — sources, statistics, thresholds, limitations — are on the methodology page.

Download this page’s figures: JSON · CSV. Aggregates only — the per-hospital prices are on the compare tool.

Cite: HospitalRates.com, “Definitive drug test for antidepressants, not specified (CPT 80338) — cash price report,” computed September 25, 2026. https://hospitalrates.com/procedures/cpt-80338-definitive-drug-test-for-antidepressants-not-specified